Wu Chun: Never too late to start getting healthy

14 Apr

BRUNEI-BORN international star, Wu Chun, has been involved in the entertainment industry for more than seven years. Although busy filming and attending celebrity events, Wu Chun has never forgotten about his favourite passion – health and fitness.

Fitness Zone (FZ), one of the most prominent fitness centres in Brunei Darussalam, is managed and owned by Wu Chun himself.

On April 14 (tomorrow), FZ will be celebrating 10 years of illustrious achievements by opening a new wing at Fitness Zone Kiulap.

Wu Chun showing his love for the environment

Wu Chun showing his love for the environment

FZ made its debut at The Mall in Gadong in 2003 with the aim of promoting a healthy lifestyle among Bruneians. Spreading its healthy drive, FZ opened its second branch in Kiulap four years later in 2007.

FZ then opened another branch in Serusop before closing its Gadong branch.

In conjunction with Fitness Zone’s 10th Anniversary, Wu Chun recently sat down with the media for an interview.

Wu Chun with the Minister of Health, Pehin Orang Kaya Johan Pahlawan Dato Seri Setia Awang Haji Adanan bin Begawan Pehin Siraja Khatib Dato Seri Setia Awang Haji Mohd Yusof

Wu Chun with the Minister of Health, Pehin Orang Kaya Johan Pahlawan Dato Seri Setia Awang Haji Adanan bin Begawan Pehin Siraja Khatib Dato Seri Setia Awang Haji Mohd Yusof

 

Q: How long have you been interested in health and fitness? Were you an avid sportsman in school?

Wu Chun: I love sports but I only started fitness training at the age of 15. I recall my brother-in-law saying that I was a bull because I trained like a bull and would always push myself to the limit. When I want to do something, I got a way to motivate myself. In addition, I also did a lot of research to help achieve my goal. I read a lot of self-enrichment books which really help me know what I really want in life and how to achieve my goals!

I don’t like wasting time doing nothing because I have too much to accomplish in my life. This kind of thinking started when I was still in school. I never want to fail in my studies too because I really think it’s a waste of time to repeat the same subject for one more year and I never want to let each day pass by without improving my skill as a basketball player so my basketball training is a well-planned one as well.Basketball also let me understand that there is no shortcut in life and learning the basic principle of everything is the key to long term success!

PAGE15Wu Chun showing his love for the environment_page 15 a rubie  Wu Chun bleeds for a good cause. – PHOTOS COURTESY OF FITNESS ZONE

Wu Chun showing his love for the environment

 

Q: How has your interest in physical activities shaped your life?

Wu Chun: It gives me strong willpower to handle my daily life. It broadens my knowledge on how to stay healthy. It teaches me how to motivate people. It gives me strength to do my daily tasks.

It let me understand that I have to take care of my own health if I really love my loved ones.

It also helps a lot especially as an artiste where physical look is one of the important criteria and it also speeds up my learning in action movies. I love cooking as this healthy journey also teaches me how to cook healthy but still maintain the good taste and the best thing is you will realise that diet is for people who don’t exercise and for me, I never go on diet at all because my muscle will help me burn a lot more calories than those who don’t have that!

Wu Chun bleeds for a good cause. – PHOTOS COURTESY OF FITNESS ZONE

Wu Chun bleeds for a good cause. – PHOTOS COURTESY OF FITNESS ZONE

Q: What sparked your interest in opening a gym?

Wu Chun: Doing something meaningful and different in Brunei. I love challenges and taking risk and I believe once I put effort into my work, anything good can happen. Just need patience, consistency, strong will power and staying positive everyday! What my idol, Michael Jordan, taught me was – ‘The key to success is failure’. And what Steve Jobs taught me was ‘Stay foolish, stay hungry’.

I believe one day, Bruneians will start to realise and think like many population from other more advanced countries that joining a health club is meant to be a part of everyone’s life. Look at countries like Singapore, Australia, US and UK. Even early morning and lunch time, the health club is fully packed with people! I just have to never give up.

Furthermore, I am lucky that the Ministry of Health appreciates what we are doing and the ministry has been giving us much support to encourage more Bruneians to be more active. Prevention is better than cure and I want to help my members live a better quality of life. I always tell them that it’s never too late to start because if you don’t, you will never know what will happen in 10 or 20 years’ time. I believe my members will thank FZ when they get old because they are able to be strong and enjoy life until they are old!

Passion, love, caring and trust. These are our core values at FZ. They form our culture and are integrated into the services inside our health clubs. Our people exist to serve our members and to transform them to become stronger, healthier, and happier human beings.

Our staff members, hired with our core values in mind, have the important mission of motivating, inspiring, coaching and bringing out the best in our members. We truly believe that in a period of time, the fitness industry in Brunei will become as much a daily part of people’s lives as grocery shopping.

It’s never too late and ‘Prevention Is Always Better Than Cure’ so let us lead you through the journey of good health. Let us prove to you the priceless benefits of what good quality of life can bring to you and your loved ones. Be inspired!

Q: How did you go about opening the business? When you began what problems did you face?

Wu Chun: Lots of negativity because my closed ones are saying I spent too much money on this business and Bruneians won’t appreciate what I do for them.

Actually, it’s a dream rather than a business to me and I want to build a world class fitness club in Brunei. I remember what Rocky Balboa said in the movie ROCKY, “It ain’t about how hard you get hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward.”

I know the journey is going to be a hard one but hard does not mean impossible! I know nothing worth having comes easy so I have the patience to wait for Bruneians to start appreciating what I do and I can slowly see that now. I know if FZ closes down tomorrow, a lot of people will not get used to it. It’s like something is missing in their life!

But one thing that surprise me is many Bruneians are able to accept it… not only expats but what is important is for us to deliver our promises to our members. We get to be consistent and we get to improve day after day and that’s a challenge I really like.

Every day, I am doing research online and reading magazines and books about what is going on in the fitness industry. I fly to USA and Australia to join the biggest fitness conventions and join seminars hearing from the leaders in the fitness industry and I learn a lot and it inspires me when I see all these fitness gurus and meet all these people who join the conventions.

I am so grateful I am part of it and I always encourage others to be part of it.

Q: Has your busy schedule of travelling and filming changed the way you work out and maintain your fitness?

Wu Chun: Staying healthy has already formed a strong culture inside me.

I might not have the time or convenience of joining a health club overseas but my work is able to let me maintain my muscle and improve on my flexibility because I have lots of training on dancing as a singer and I practise a lot of martial art being an action actor. Getting fit can be painful in the first three months. But once you pass that period, you will be addicted to it because it gives you many benefits which you can feel it straight away!

Q: What are your favourite ways of keeping fit? What is your current workout?

Wu Chun: Nowadays, I have a very busy schedule so I spend only 30 to 45 minutes working out three times per week. And I find out that it’s the same as working out in the gym for two hours because I increase my intensity and I don’t have much rest in between sets. This encourages the muscles to work harder so I can maintain my muscles while burning fats at a faster rate! Once you start to learn more about fitness, you will have a way to get what you want.

Q: Charity is a big part of FZ. Why?

Wu Chun: Since young, I was influenced by my mother as she always used her children’s names to donate to the poor. She taught us to show our love and care as lots of people are less fortunate than us and we should do our part to change people’s lives in every little way that we can. I recall my mother telling me to learn to stay positive all the time because if we waste our breath complaining about life, someone out there is actually breathing their last so we should appreciate what we still have and help others if we can.

That’s why I love the fitness industry so much because I believe we change people’s live and on top of that, I realised that the power of many is way stronger than myself alone so I always take the opportunity to encourage my members to be part of our charity events and I am so grateful that my members are all very kind hearted and show their supports.

Corporate Social Responsibility is definitely part of our culture and I am not only doing this because it’s a responsibility but it is something that I love to do and I find great satisfaction while doing it. That’s also one big thing I love being an artiste because I am able to influence a lot of my supporters to support charity work and I want the younger generation to know that involving themselves in charity is a ‘cool’ way of life!

Q: I heard that you are the one who did all the architecture and interior design of FZ. Is this true?

Wu Chun: Yes, my love for the fitness industry also extends to the art of designing my health club. Every single thing from the structure of the building, every single materials used in every corner of the club, the flow and design layout, the colour, the equipments, etc. I am the one coming out with all the drawings and communication with all the contractors because I know this business better than anyone and I also ask for suggestions as well and I design this club not based on what I want but based on what my members will love being here. I try to design a health club which I hope my members will feel comfortable in and today,

I am so happy that I got lots of members who tell me Fitness Zone is like their 2nd home! I love quotes since young and if you can notice, there are a lot of powerful quotes by famous people inside the club.

It’s also one way to motivate my members and keep them focus during their workout!

Sometimes, my friends will asked if it’s worth it to spend so much on the renovation and I will tell them my dream is to build a good club and making a profit or not is not my concern right now but of course I hope my members will appreciate what I did for them and bring in more business for me!

Q: Do you have tips for readers in keeping a healthy lifestyle and staying fit?

Wu Chun: I always believe for us to achieve more, we need to learn how to get out of our comfort zone. The journey to a healthy lifestyle starts with an attitude. I always tell myself that it’s cool to achieve something that others can’t and I want to be different. I don’t want my loved ones to worry about my health conditions and I don’t want my children to worry about my health when I am 60 years old.

Once you realised the benefits, it will spark your motivation and you start going to the gym and enjoy every bit of it!

A quote to share by Bruce Lee, “Don’t pray for an easy life, pray for the strength to endure a difficult one”.

Over the last 10 years, I have seen Bruneians getting more concerned about their health but one thing that is lacking is the willpower to practise consistent healthy lifestyle! That’s why FZ is introducing many fun and effective programmes to keep our members motivated and achieved their goals more easily!

I always tell my close friends that it’s never too late to start because the difference between exercising and not in your next 20 years will make a huge difference to their quality of life! It’s truly worth it!

Q: Is there anything you would like to say to the readers?

Wu Chun: Live a life with no regrets. It’s never too late to start getting healthy!

 

Source: Borneo Bulletin

 

 

One Response to “Wu Chun: Never too late to start getting healthy”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Seven Tips to a Long and Healthy Life | Beauty And Health Solution - November 1, 2013

    […] for LawsuitsExerciseCaring for Senior Dogs – How to Keep Your Furry Friend Happy and HealthyWu Chun: Never too late to start getting healthyTubePressGlobalJsConfig = { baseUrl : […]

Leave a Reply

